Computing and ICT

Computing is a compulsory subject in Year 7 and 8 and covers both computer science, information technology and digital literacy.  In Year 9 students can choose to study either Computer Science or ICT through to Year 11.


Subject Overview

Years 7 and 8

During  Year 7 and 8 students study a combination of ICT and Computing which follows the National Curriculum Programme of Study in Computing.  This includes:

  • Digital Literacy - students learn how to use a  range of 'office' applications such as word processing and spreadsheets, as well as how to use the Internet effectively and safely.
  • Information Technology - students learn about computer systems and how to use technology.
  • Computer Science - students learn how to use a range of programming applications, developing their knowledge of these whilst at the same time developing skills in computational thinking.

Years 9 to 11

From Year 9 all students study for either a Level 2 ICT qualification or GCSE Computer Science.  We currently follow the OCR Cambridge Nationals in Information Technologies syllabus for ICT and the AQA Computer Science syllabus for Computing.

ICT:  Students study a range of software applications as well as how to plan and manage a project.  The final qualification is made up of one exam and one controlled assessment unit during which students carry out a practical project. 

Computer Science: Students study a range of topics including computer systems, cyber security and data representation as well as developing their programming skills, focusing on using Python.  The final qualification is made up of two exams as well as a controlled assessment unit. 

Downloads Date  
AQA GCSE CS book.pdf 18th Jul 2018 Download
Programming.pdf 18th Jul 2018 Download