Change to GCSE grading

National Changes in GCSE Grades

The grades that students are awarded at GCSE have changed from letter grades (A*-G) to number grades (9-1). This is a national change and affects all schools.

The grading system for BTEC subjects is unchanged and will still be Pass, Merit or Distinction.

A level grades are unaffected by these reforms.

The changes have been introduced gradually by the government, so the situation is different for different year groups at TBCC.

Students have begun the reformed GCSEs in all subjects. As such, their final GCSE certificates, in 2018 and 2019, will comprise of all number grades (9-1).

Grades used in school

When we assess students and report their progress to parents, we will use the new number grade system (9-1) for all subjects in Years 10, 9, 8 and 7. For Year 11 we will use a mix of number grades (9-1) and letter grades (A*-G).

The only exception to this will be for a small number of BTEC subjects.

Converting between letter grades (A*-G) and number grades (9-1)

Please note that in the old letter grade system (A*-G), a grade C was considered to be a ‘good’ pass.

In the new number grade system (9-1), a grade 5 (which is equivalent to a high grade C) is considered to be a ‘good’ pass

Fine Grades

To help us monitor progress more closely within the school, we use a Fine Grades system where each grade is broken down into 3 sub levels.

For example…

6a - Student is secure at this grade and with intervention may move up to the next grade.

6b - Student is secure in this grade

6c - Student is not secure at this grade and without intervention may slip to the grade below.

This also applies similarly to other grades 8a, 8b, 8c etc


Fine grades